Our Legacy

IIT Delhi Highlights Time-line


  • 1959

    HRH the Duke of Edinburgh lays the foundation stone of the College of Engineering and Technology, Delhi (subsequently converted to the Indian Institute of Technology Delhi by an act of the Parliament) on 27 January.

    Academic Council of Delhi University approves a five year integrated UG course on 17 December.

    Shri J.N. Moudgill is appointed as the convener of the Committee for Examinations and Syllabus

  • 1969

    President V.V. Giri delivers the third convocation address on 27 October.

    Instrumentation Design Development Centre (IDDC) is established.

    Nalanda house (accommodation for married students) is completed.

    PGM: Narendra Kumar Gupta

    DGM: Janak Raj

  • 1979

    Centre for Rural Development & Appropriate Technology (CRDT) is established.

    School of Materials Science & Technology and School of Systems & Management Studies are founded.

    Prof. A.K. Ghatak (Physics) is awarded the SSB prize.

    PGM: Poornima Bakhshi (Ms.)

    DGM: Anand Prabhakar Ekobote

    Ms. Poornima Bakhshi becomes the

    First woman to receive the PGM.

  • 1989

    Prof. N.C. Nigam is appointed as the Director on 7 February.

    Foundation for Innovation and Technology Transfer (FITT), an autonomous organisation, is established with seed grant from MHRD.

    PGM: Vikram M Gadre

    DGM: Jaideep Kumar Mishra

  • 2009

    New Girls hostel (Himadri) is constructed.

    A distance education PG program in Chemical, Civil and Mechanical Engineering, and Computer Science for the University of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia is started via a video link from the Institute.

    With an increase in the number of attendees, the annual Convocation is held over two days for the first time.

    Prof. Charusita Chakravarty (Chemistry) is awarded the SSB prize, the first woman faculty so honoured.

    IIT Ropar moves to its transit campus at Ropar with IITD faculty continuing to teach some courses there.

    The limes Higher Education Supplement (THES)— QS World Universities Rankings places IITD at No. 42 among the top 50 technology universities of the world.

    THES— QS World Universities Rankings places IITD at No. 154 position.

    Annual Survey of India Today ranks IIT Delhi as No.1 Engineering Institution of India.

    Dr Kiran Seth (Mechanical Engineering) is awarded the Padma Shri.

    PGM: Otkrist Gupta

    DGM: Shagun Gupta

    SDS PGM: Debdoot Mukherjee

    DAA: Prof. Alex Pothen ('78), Prof. Sharad Malik ('85) & Mr. K. Ananth Krishnan ('85 & '88)

  • 1999

    The 1972 batch of Electrical Engineering constructs an additional wing to Jwalamukhi Hostel and dedicates it to Prof. P.V. Indiresan.

    Alumnus Vinod Khosla (DM 1995) contributes $5 Million to set up the School of Information Technology. This is the largest individual contribution to date.

    PGM: Rajiv Bhardwaj

    DGM: Anubha (Ms)

    DAA: Dr. O.P. Sharma ('67) & Mr. Vijay Thadani (72)

History Snapshots

History of the Institute

The concept of the IITs was first introduced in a report in the year 1945 by Sh. N.M.Sircar, then member of Education on Vicerory’s Executive Council. Following his recommendations, the first Indian Institute of Technology was established in the year 1950 in Kharagpur. In his report, Shri Sircar had suggested that such Institutes should also be started in different parts of the country. The Government having accepted these recommendations of the Sircar Committee decided to establish more Institutes of Technology with the assistance of friendly countries who were prepared to help. The first offer of help came from USSR who agreed to collaborate in the establishment of an Institute through UNESCO at Bombay. This was followed by the Institutes of Technology at Madras, Kanpur and Delhi with collaborations with West Germany, USA and UK respectively. Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati was established in 1995 and the University of Roorkee was converted into an IIT in 2001.

The Government of India negotiated with the British Government for collaboration in setting up an Institute of Technology at Delhi. The British Government agreed in principle to such a collaboration, but were inclined initially to start in a modest way. It was therefore agreed that a College of Engineering & Technology should be established at Delhi with their assistance. A trust called the Delhi Engineering College Trust was established with the help of the UK Government and the Federation of British Industries in London. Later H.R.H. Prince Philips, Duke of Edinburgh, during his visit to India, laid the foundation stone of the College at Hauz Khas on January 28,1959.

The College of Engineering & Technology was registered as a Society on 14th June 1960 under the Societies Registration Act No. XXI of 1860 (Registration No.S1663 of 1960-61). The first admissions were made in 1961. The students were asked to report at the College on 16th August 1961 and the College was formally inaugurated on 17th of August 1961 by Prof. Humayun Kabir, Minister of Scientific Research & Cultural Affairs. The College was affiliated to the University of Delhi.

According to Section 4 of the Act, each of the Institutes shall be a body corporate having perpetual succession and a common seal and shall, by its name, sue and be sued. The body corporate constituting each of the Institutes, shall consist of a Chairman, a Director and other members of the Board for the time being of the Institute. IIT Delhi is an autonomous statutory organisation functioning in terms of the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 amended vide the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act, 1963 and the Statutes framed thereunder. Responsibility for the general superintendence, direction and control of the affairs of the Institute is vested in the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors functions through its Standing Committees - Finance Committee, Building & Works Committee and such other adhoc committees which are constituted by it from time to time to consider specific issues. The control and general regulation for the maintenance of standards of instruction, education and examination in the Institute vests in the Senate. The Senate is responsible for formulation of the academic policies and to design curricula, the courses of studies and the system of examination. The Senate functions through its Standing Boards/Committees and Sub-committees that may be constituted by it to look into the specific matters arising from time to time.